Schools funding

The National School Reform Agreement [PDF 886KB|DOCX 99KB], which will operate from 2019 to 2023, sets out reforms in areas where national collaboration will have the greatest impact on lifting student outcomes across Australian Schools. The Agreement builds on existing national and local initiatives in each state and territory, and ensures that funding is invested in programs that will achieve outcomes.

The National School Reform Agreement has been agreed by the Commonwealth and all States and Territories. The National School Reform Agreement is supported by bilateral agreements which can be found on the Department of Education and Training website.

Prior to 2019, the National Education Reform Agreement [PDF 842KB|DOC 440KB], set out the shared objective that Australian schooling should provide high quality and equitable education for all students. This was agreed by the Commonwealth, New South Wales, Victoria, South Australia, Tasmania and the ACT. The National Education Reform Agreement also replaced the National Education Agreement [PDF 1.3MB | DOC 2.8MB].