National Agreements

National Agreements define the objectives, outcomes, outputs and performance indicators, and clarify the roles and responsibilities that guide the Commonwealth and the States in the delivery of services in key sectors.

There are currently four National Agreements in the health, skills and workforce development, disability services, and Indigenous reform sectors, and a National Health Reform Agreement:

National Specific Purpose Payments (SPPs) are the funding mechanism through which the Commonwealth supports States' efforts in delivering services in key sectors.

There are currently two National SPPs through which the Commonwealth makes payments: the National Skills and Workforce Development SPP and the National Disability Services SPP. National SPPs are required to be spend in the relevant sector.

The former National Healthcare, National Schools SPPs and National Affordable Housing SPP have been replaced with National Health Reform, Quality Schools and National Housing and Homelessness funding arrangements.