Council on Federal Financial Relations

Note: National Cabinet agreed on 29 May 2020 that the Council on Federal Financial Relations would be responsible for all Commonwealth-State funding agreements, including reviewing the agreements process. Before commencing work on an agreement please contact, your usual Treasury contact, or Chris Perks on (02) 6263 3926 for the latest information.


The Council on Federal Financial Relations (CFFR) is one of the eight councils established to support the Councils of Australian Governments (COAG) to improve the current and future well-being of all Australians.

The CFFR oversees the financial relationship between the Commonwealth and the States and Territories, including the Intergovernmental Agreement on Federal Financial Relations (IGA FFR).

The IGA FFR sets the framework for the Commonwealth's financial relations with the States and Territories. It recognises that the States and Territories have primary responsibility for many areas of service delivery but that coordinated action is necessary to respond to Australia's economic and social challenges.

The aims of the IGA FFR, and therefore of CFFR, are to improve the quality and effectiveness of government services and the wellbeing of all Australians, by:

  • allowing states increased flexibility in the way they deliver services to the Australian people; and
  • increasing accountability by clearly defining the roles of each level of government, focusing on outcomes and providing better performance reporting.

The CFFR is comprised of the Commonwealth Treasurer as Chair and the State and Territory Treasurers. The Council generally meets biannually, however can meet more frequently if required.

Meeting dates and outcomes